IIHS Top Safety Pick+ Award Comes Standard on the 2017 Toyota Highlander

January 10th, 2017 by

2017_Toyota_Highlander_SE_003_9848455BD1D250AC66DF9613CE7FA73B8C85143E_lowToyota maintains its lead with the most Insurance Institute for Highway Safety’s (IIHS) Top Safety Pick + (TSP+) awards of all manufacturers. The Toyota Highlander is the 10th 2017 TSP+ award for Toyota/Lexus. With the three 2017 TSP awards (Avalon, Lexus CT and Yaris iA), Toyota has a combined total of 13 awards.

According to IIHS, the 2017 Toyota Highlander earns the TSP+ award recognizing good crash protection across the board, including a superior-rated front crash prevention system and acceptable-rated headlights. And, unlike most TOP SAFETY PICK+ winners, which meet the front crash prevention and headlight criteria when they are equipped with optional features, the Highlander qualifies for the award with standard equipment.

“Toyota is firmly committed to a wide range of initiatives further enhancing the safety of Toyota vehicles and peace of mind for our customers,” said Jeff Makarewicz, Toyota’s North American Vehicle, Quality & Safety Engineering Group Vice President. “This sincere dedication to safety by our engineers resulted in another IIHS Top Safety pick for Toyota.”

To qualify for 2017 TSP+, a vehicle must earn good ratings in the five IIHS crashworthiness tests—small overlap front, moderate overlap front, side, roof strength and head restraints—as well as an advanced or superior rating for front crash prevention and an acceptable or good headlight rating.

2017 Toyota TOP SAFETY PICK+ winners:
Toyota Highlander
Toyota Prius (built after Aug. 2016)
Toyota Corolla
Toyota Camry
Toyota Prius v
Toyota RAV4
2017 Toyota TOP SAFETY PICK winners:
Toyota Yaris iA
Toyota Avalon

Posted in News, Safety